Exhibition

John Smith

Waldeinsamkeit. Films from the 21st Century

08.03.2022 -
06.06.2022

Filmmakers are observers. In his typical dramaturgy, which experimentally breaks up documentary material and underlines it with humorous elements, John Smith develops cinematic narratives in which the given reality is shaken.

The question about the individual person and his place is repeatedly expressed in a subtle way. John Smith's videos are still mostly made alone and with relatively little technical effort, but the field of view of his camera has now expanded beyond London. Political statements are often intended. In his current films, too, he finds his topics in everyday life.

The exhibition is the second encounter with the cinematic work of John Smith in the Kunstmuseum Magdeburg. Since the short filmmaker and experimental filmmaker had his very first museum exhibition in Magdeburg in 2005, his name has become an integral part of the international art and museum business. Although his way of working has not fundamentally changed in the meantime, he now ranks as a video artist who, with his films, was and still is significantly involved in the historical success of the development of video art. The current presentation focuses on the last two decades.

John Smith, Horizon (Five Pounds a Belgian), 2012
John Smith, Covid Messages (Still), 2020

John Smith was born in Walthamstow, London, in 1952. He studied at North-East London Polytechnic and the Royal College of Art. Inspired in his formative years by conceptual art and structural film, but also fascinated by the immersive power of narrative and the spoken word, he has developed a diverse body of work that subverts the perceived boundaries between documentary, fiction, representation, and abstraction. Often rooted in everyday life, his meticulously crafted films playfully explore and expose the language of cinema.

Smith lives and works in London. He is Emeritus Professor of Fine Art at the University of East London.

Since 1972 Smith has made over sixty film, video and installation works that have been shown in independent cinemas, art galleries and on television around the world. His films have been awarded major prizes at international film festivals in Oberhausen, Leipzig, Hamburg, Stuttgart, Graz, Geneva, Uppsala, Pamplona, Bordeaux, Lucca, Palermo, Split, Cork, Seoul, Ann Arbor and Chicago. He received a Paul Hamlyn Foundation Award for Artists in 2011, and in 2013 he was the winner of Film London’s Jarman Award.

Share:

Ausstellung

John Smith

Waldeinsamkeit.

08.03.2022 -
06.06.2022

FILME DES 21. JAHRHUNDERTS

Filmemacher*innen sind Beobachter*innen. In seiner typischen Dramaturgie, welche dokumentarisches Material experimentell aufbricht und mit humoristischen Elementen unterlegt, entwickelt John Smith filmische Erzählungen, in welchen die gegebene Realität ins Wanken gerät und Alternativen durchgespielt werden.

Darin äußert sich immer wieder subtil die Frage nach dem einzelnen Menschen und seinem Ort. Nach wie vor entstehen die Videos von John Smith vorwiegend allein und mit relativ geringem technischem Aufwand, allerdings hat sich das Blickfeld seiner Kamera inzwischen über London hinaus geweitet. Nicht selten sind politische Statements intendiert. Auch in seinen aktuellen Filmen findet er die Themen auf ganz alltäglichen Wegen.

Die Ausstellung ist die zweite Begegnung mit dem filmischen Werk von John Smith im Kunstmuseum Magdeburg. Seit der Kurz- und Experimentalfilmer 2005 in Magdeburg seine erste Museumsausstellung überhaupt hatte, ist sein Name aus dem internationalen Kunst- und Museumsbetrieb nicht mehr wegzudenken. Wenngleich seine Arbeitsweise sich inzwischen nicht grundsätzlich verändert hat, rangiert er heute als Videokünstler, der mit seinen Filmen maßgeblich am historischen Erfolg der Entwicklung von Videokunst beteiligt war und immer noch ist. Der Schwerpunkt der aktuellen Präsentation liegt auf den beiden letzten Jahrzehnten.

John Smith, Horizon (Five Pounds a Belgian), 2012
John Smith, Covid Messages (Still), 2020

John Smith wurde 1952 in Walthamstow, London, geboren. Er studierte an der North-East London Polytechnic und dem Royal College of Art. Seine frühen Arbeiten sind von der Konzeptkunst und dem Strukturellen Film inspiriert, ebenso faszinierte ihn die immersive Macht des Narrativs und des gesprochenen Worts. Daraus entwickelte er ein umfangreiches/vielfältiges Œuvre, welches die wahrgenommenen Grenzen zwischen dem Dokumentarischen, Fiktion, Repräsentation und Abstraktion unterwandert. Oft im Alltag verwurzelt, erkunden und entlarven seine akribisch gestalteten Filme spielerisch die Sprache des Kinos.
Heute lebt und arbeitet Smith in London. Er ist emeritierter Professor of Fine Art der University of East London.

Seit 1972 hat Smith über 60 Film-, Video- und Installationsarbeiten gemacht. Für sie erhielt John Smith bedeutende Preise von internationalen Film Festivals in Oberhausen, Leipzig, Hamburg, Stuttgart, Graz, Genf, Uppsala, Pamplona, Bordeaux, Lucca, Palermo, Split, Cork, Seoul, Ann Arbor und Chicago. Ihm wurde der Paul Hamlyn Foundation Award für Künstler in 2011 verliehen, und in 2013 war er der Gewinner des Film London's Jarman Award. Sein Werke befinden sich in zahlreichen Museumssammlungen.

Die Ausstellung wird gefördert von:

Teilen: