Exhibition

Monika Huber

Archiv Einsdreissig

07.03.2023 -
25.06.2023

One minute and thirty seconds.This is the average length of a post in a news block, such as in the "Tagesthemen" or the "Heute Journal".Since the beginning of 2011, with the beginning of the "Arab Spring", Monika Huber (* 1959) has been creating a digital archive of news images - the Archiv Einsdreissig (archive one-thirty).

It documents the worldwide political and social change in its media reflection and pictorial narrative construction.Designed as a long-term documentation, it currently includes around 40,000 photographs.Huber selected images from these, edits them by painting or drawing over them, or transformed them into a video.

The artist takes up the images that are usually lost in the daily flood of news in order to make them visible, tangible and reflective through editing. The media images she selects repeatedly show people as protesting and rebellious actors, as subjects and objects of public, political, often violent and warlike events.

Monika Huber (* 1959 in Dingolfing) studied painting at the Academy of Fine Arts in Munich with Günter Fruhtrunk. She graduated in 1985 with a master's degree in painting and graphics. Her work has been shown in numerous gallery exhibitions, museum presentations, architecture-related installations and public interventions since 1983. Monika Huber lives and works in Munich.

Ausstellung

Archiv Einsdreissig

Monika Huber

07.03.2023 -
25.06.2023

Eine Minute und dreißig Sekunden. Das ist die durchschnittliche Länge eines Beitrags in einem Nachrichtenblock wie in den "Tagesthemen" oder dem "Heute Journal". Monika Huber (* 1959) erstellt seit Anfang 2011, mit dem Beginn des „Arabischen Frühlings“, ein digitales Archiv aus Nachrichtenbildern - das Archiv Einsdreissig.

Es dokumentiert den weltweiten politisch-gesellschaftlichen Wandel in seiner medialen Spiegelung und bildnarrativen Konstruktion.
Als Langzeitdokumentation konzipiert, umfasst es derzeit etwa 40 000 Fotografien. Aus diesen hat Huber Bilder ausgewählt, sie durch Übermalung oder Überzeichnung bearbeitet oder in ein Video transformiert.

Dabei greift die Künstlerin die gewöhnlich in der täglichen Nachrichtenflut untergehenden Bilder auf, um sie mittels Bearbeitung neu sichtbar, erfahrbar und reflektierbar zu machen. Die von ihr ausgewählten Medienbilder zeigen immer wieder Menschen als protestierende und revoltierende Akteure, als Subjekt und Objekt politisch-öffentlicher, oft gewaltsamer und kriegerischer Ereignisse.

Monika Huber (* 1959 in Dingolfing) studierte Malerei an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste München bei Günter Fruhtrunk. Sie schloss 1985 das Studium mit dem Meisterschülerdiplom für Malerei und Grafik ab. Ihre Arbeiten werden seit 1983 in zahlreichen Galerie-Ausstellungen, Museumspräsentationen, architekturbezogenen Installationen und öffentlichen Interventionen gezeigt. Monika Huber lebt und arbeitet in München.